Literary Prize Winners - Pulitzer Prize, International Booker Prize and more

The Pultizer Prize for Fiction

The Pultizer Prize for Fiction has been won by Louise Erdrich for her novel The Night Watchman

The Pulitzer prize is awarded annually for distinguished fiction by an American author, preferably dealing with American life. Based on the extraordinary life of National Book Award-winning author Louise Erdrich’s grandfather who worked as a night watchman and carried the fight against Native dispossession from rural North Dakota all the way to Washington D.C., this powerful novel explores themes of love and death with lightness and gravity and unfolds with the elegant prose, sly humor, and depth of feeling of a master in the craft of writing.

The Night Watchman by Louise Erdrich

The International Booker Prize

The International Booker Prize for translated works has been won by At Night All Blood is Black by David Diop and translated from French by Anna Moschovakis.

It tells the story of Alfa and Mademba, two of the many Senegalese soldiers fighting in the Great War. Together they climb dutifully out of their trenches to attack France's German enemies whenever the whistle blows, until Mademba is wounded, and dies in a shell hole. Without his more-than-brother, Alfa is alone and lost amidst the savagery of the conflict. He devotes himself to the war, to violence and death, but soon begins to frighten even his own comrades in arms. How far will Alfa go to make amends to his dead friend? At Night All Blood is Black is a hypnotic, heartbreaking rendering of a mind hurtling towards madness.

At Night All Blood is Black by David Diop

The International Dublin Literary Award

The International Dublin Literary Award has been won by Lost Children Archive by Valeria Luiselli.
Established in 1994, the International Dublin Literary Award is considered one of the world’s wealthiest awards for literature with a prize money of €100,000. The award is given to a novel written or translated into English. Interestingly, the nominations are made by public libraries from across the world and both authors and translators are eligible for the award. Lost Children Archive is inspired by the contemporary American policy which kept children and their parents away from each other at the Mexican-American border.

Lost Children Archive by Valeria Luiselli

Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIA)

Each year the awards celebrate the achievement of authors, publishers and booksellers in bringing Australian books to readers. The awards are voted on by an academy of Industry professionals and a judging panel.  Some of the winners of the 2021 awards are:

Book of the Year and General Non Fiction Book of the Year - Phosphorescence by Julia Baird
Literary Fiction Book of the year - A lonely Girl is a Dangerous Thing by Jessie Tu
New Writer of the year - The Coconut Children by Vivian Pham
Biography Book of the Year - The Happiest Man on Earth by Eddie Jaku
General Fiction Book of the Year - The Dictionary of Lost Words by Pip Williams 

Find a full list of the ABIA awards at  ABIA Awards 2021

Phosphorescence by Julia Baird

The Australian/Vogel's Literary Award

The Australian/Vogel's Literary Award has been won by Now That I See You by Emma Batchelor.

The Australian/Vogel's Literary Award is one of Australia's richest and the most prestigious award for an unpublished manuscript by a writer under the age of thirty-five. Offering prize money of $20,000 plus publication by Allen & Unwin, The Australian/Vogel's Literary Award has launched the careers of some of Australia's most successful writers, including Tim Winton, Kate Grenville, Gillian Mears, Brian Castro, Mandy Sayer and Andrew McGahan.
Viewed through the lens of a relationship breakdown after one partner discloses to the other that they are transgender, Now That I See You spans eighteen months: from the moments of first discovery, through the eventual disintegration of their partnership, to the new beginnings of independence.


Now That I See You by Emma Batchelor
0 reactions